Spring On Campus

This afternoon I took the kids out for a walk around the loch at my university. It’s a lovely walk and it had been a while since we had taken the time to wander round the path taking in the seasonal flora and fauna. If you’ve been reading Lives Less Ordinary for a while now, you may remember I posted photos from a walk we took back in December last year. That day was beautiful, clear and frosty – the grass crunched beneath our feet and our breath could be seen clearly as it left our bodies. Today, however, the sun was out, the earth was soft and a bit soggy from all the rain we’ve had recently, the flowers were abundant and there were a few wonderful surprises of the duckling kind waiting for us. Take a look:

Springtime Campus

A Springtime Scene

Underneath the Magnolia Tree

Magnolia in Bloom

Backlit Blossom

Duckling

This Way!

Gone Swimming

If you want to see the whole set, you can find it here.

So, how is Spring progressing in your part of the world? What are you doing to make this Spring memorable?

April 17, 2008. Environment, Photography.

16 Comments

  1. lindiop replied:

    Spring has been slow coming and I only saw the first ducklings last week here in London. Still there’s tadpoles in the pond and the toads have spawned. I’m planning a river trip for my birthday on Monday,first time on the Thames this year, so that should be good šŸ™‚ I’m longing for warm evenings sitting in the garden by the pond though. Your photos are gorgeous as ever, thanks for sharing them.

  2. Ellen Wilson replied:

    Great pictures, Amy. I managed to get out and take some photos of birds in doing the swing mating ritual (red-wing blackbirds) Now is the best time to take pictures of birds before they get all ratty looking due to caring for their incessant, screaming young!

  3. mrschili replied:

    AMY! BEAUTIFUL! The purple flowers took my breath away.

    We’re not NEARLY at full-blown spring yet. It surprises me that you in Scotland are so much further into it than we in New England – you’re at a much higher latitude than we. Oh well – it’ll get here eventually (I hope!).

  4. Daz Cox replied:

    oh yeah, spring has sprung here! I look at the buds getting fat on the trees and one day soon they’ll burst open!

    šŸ™‚ I love spring!

  5. Joanna Young replied:

    Thanks for sharing the photos Amy, they’re stunning as ever. I’m glad you were able to enjoy an afternoon of spring time inspiration outside after all your hard work.

    Joanna

  6. Bo replied:

    These are wonderful spring photos. I’m still waiting for my first wildflower of the year. For my efforts so far, I’ve gotten muddy boots and soaked feet, but not pretty blossoms. I did see a pair of wild turkeys, the male dancing for his sweetie. What a show.

  7. wonderwebby replied:

    lovely photos Amy, thanks for putting a smile on my face šŸ™‚

  8. Kelly replied:

    Stunning photos. I actually took a deep breath as you can practically feel the fresh air.

    Spring here is slow in coming, but the tulips are out and they add dots of color to mostly gray days.

  9. Zhu replied:

    Oh, look at these cute ducks! Your close-up is really clear, amazing! Love the reflection in the water too.

    No flowers for us yet but at least the snow melted. Pretty much.

  10. cybill replied:

    What a gorgeous walk that was. I’m in Australia and we are just heading into winter and looking forward to it too after an extremely hot summer.

  11. Damien replied:

    The nature you captured is very inspiring!

  12. Rosa Say replied:

    Gorgeous photos Amy, mahalo for sharing them! My favorite is the magnolia, a sentimental flower for me. Here in Hawaii we never see them as in your picture, on a tree without leaves, as our trees remain green the entire year through. Much of their beauty is then hidden, so I do love your capture and have added it to my desktop!

  13. nouveaufauves replied:

    How cool is this? I just took a walk with you!

  14. Steven replied:

    The photos (from all your blogs) are really stunning, Amy. They also inspire much reflection. There’s almost a kind of sadness insofar as the moments you capture are the sort of moments that pass all too quickly. It makes me think alot about forgotten memories, unphotographed events…moments of goodness that flee from consciousness – things that get weighed down because of the pressures of life in general.

  15. amypalko replied:

    These were the first ducklings I saw this year too, Lindiop. The boat trip sounds lovely!

    Red-wing blackbirds sound very exotic, Ellen. We only have the ordinary all-black blackbirds. Their mating ritual sounds a sight to behold though.

    We are at a much higher latitude, Mrschili, but we also have the gulf stream which makes a huge difference to our climate. I think people are often surprised by the weather we get in the UK!

    Spring is a wonderful season, isn’t it, Daz?

    It was like balm on my soul, Joanna šŸ™‚

    I say enjoy the turkey mating ritual, Bo, and the pretty flowers will be along soon enough šŸ™‚

    You are most welcome, Wonderwebby!

    Oh, I love the tulips, Kelly! I was just admiring the tulips in my Grandad’s garden the other day there. Such vibrant colours.

    Well, the melt is the first step, isn’t it, Zhu? I’m sure Spring will be in full-swing shortly šŸ™‚

    We don’t tend to get extremely hot summers in Scotland, Cybill, but I love the cold, clear Autumn. I love watching my breath as it leaves my body, the crunch of russet leaves underfoot and the serendipitous discovery of shiny conkers. Just lovely!

    Thank you, Damien! I am constantly inspired by the nature that surrounds me šŸ™‚

    That’s so funny, Rosa, as I cannot imagine the Magnolia flowering with the leaves still attached. I love that you’re using the shot as your desktop – Enjoy!

    Yes, you did, Nouveaufauves, and I was so grateful for your company šŸ™‚

    Do you know, Steven, I don’t think I’ve ever thought of my photos in quite that way before. Thank you so much for sharing your perspective!

  16. Toni replied:

    There is no spring where I am! We only have two seasons: wet and dry. Haha! I’d love to see spring though. It looks so fresh and optimistic.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

