Dandelion Wishes

Now, maybe it’s because of Daz Cox‘s comment on this post about celebrating dandelion season, but I have been seeing dandelions everywhere recently. I took these 4 photos as a series on the stages of the dandelion, ending with the wish-making stage.

Half-Bloomed

Dandelion

Dandelion Clock

Make A Wish

Even though I am technically a grown-up, I still find it almost impossible to walk by a dandelion clock without plucking it from the plant, holding it to my mouth and scattering the seeds with my breath, whilst half-whispering some whimsical wish. Sometimes I wish for a rainbow; other times I wish for a flower to bloom on one of my cherished plants, or the serendipitous find of a white feather. I used to have a friend at school who always wished for an orange… The wishes should always be for those things which now seem simplistic to our adult sensibilities. A feather or an orange may seem trivial, but these kind of wishes are about enjoying life’s small pleasures, don’t you think?

What do you wish for as the fluffy dandelion seeds float away on your exhaled breath? Or do you prefer to wish on an eyelash, a lorry-load of hay, or perhaps the first star of the evening, twinkling in the twilight hues of pink, turquoise, lilac, blue?

April 20, 2008. Inspiration, Photography.

12 Comments

  1. mrschili replied:

    I don’t wish for specific things – my wish is always for “my highest and best.” I don’t always know what that is, of course, but that’s what I wish for.

  2. Linda replied:

    Okay first I must confess my guilt. I use weed killer on them. Your photos made me pause and sigh-such complex beauty! I will refrain from using the “Round-up”. I wish for an inspiring last day of vacation(today).

  3. On a Limb with Claudia replied:

    I love dandelions – they are great bee food. The bees are hungry from the winter and feast on the dandelions. Hurray!

  4. soultravelers3 replied:

    I just discovered you through Nadine on twitter. Fantastic photos! I just put a video on my latest blog that had a cute story about dandelions …so made these stand out to me.

    Loved the baby ducks too!

  5. Leah Maclean replied:

    Fabulous images Amy!! A wonderful thought of Spring on a cold rainy Autumn day in Sydney.

  6. Daz Cox replied:

    πŸ™‚ when making my wish I often paraphrase a Sha Na Na song by saying “may all my precious plans come true”!

    I posted my Dandelion poem from 1990 on my blog the other day if you would like to read it!
    http://99daz.com/magic-wands-and-dandelion-season/

  7. Karen Wallace replied:

    Amy, you have the ability to capture the essence of nature in your photos. These are gorgeous! And I am amazed that not only is the humble little dandelion found in Scotland and Australia – but that the make a wish tradition is strong in both places too.

    When we were kids, we’d take a dandelion head and see how many puffs it took for all the seeds to be blown off and that was how many wishes we’d get!

  8. nouveaufauves replied:

    What a great camera. Or is it the photographer that is great? I love that Dandelion seed head. What an amazing photograph. Good work.

  9. Sandra replied:

    Your photos are so inspiring. What camera are you using? I know its not the camera but the ability of the person taking them! but I am curious.

  10. Joanna Young replied:

    You know we can’t share what we wish for Amy!

    Fantastic photos again. Karen is right, you seem to be able to capture the essence somehow. The last one in particular is magnificent.

    Joanna

  11. amypalko replied:

    That’s a wonderful wish, Mrschili. Extremely aspirational πŸ™‚

    I don’t think you’re the only one who doeas that, Linda!

    Well, in that case, Claudia, we need as many dandelions as possible in the UK, as our bees seem to be dying for some unknown reason. Very worrying!

    I’m so glad you found me, Soultravelers3. Do you know that we home ed too?

    Thank you, Leah! The difference in seasons from the northern to the southern hemisphere is really very disorientating isn’t it? Glad I could bring a bit of Spring to your Autumn πŸ™‚

    I loved your dandelion poem, Daz. Went over and left a comment!

    These wish traditions get everywhere, don’t they, Karen? Rather like those fluffy dandelion seeds…

    I love that shot of the dandelion clock as well, Nouveaufauves. It worked out nice, didn’t it?

    It’s a Fujifilm Finepix Z100fd, Sandra, and it really is a very nifty camera. What’s best about it is that it’s so small that it fits in my pocket. Perfect for carrying with me everywhere!

    Thank you so much, Joanna. You know your lovely compliments are always so appreciated πŸ™‚

  12. Toni replied:

    Oooh dandelions. I haven’t seen one in ages. But I do remember wishing upon those when I was a child.

    I still wish upon stars. I always wish to have children.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

