Climatic Celebrations

I don’t know about the rest of the world, but Scotland has been getting the most fabulous weather recently! Today I celebrated the warmth, the sunshine, the acres and acres of blue sky, by taking my kids and my niece to Braidburn Park in Edinburgh. It’s one of those places that I often notice as we go passed it on the bus, but I haven’t actually set foot in the place since I was 12 years old. On my last visit, it was covered in a thick blanket of snow, and my friends and I made the most of its steep inclines, as we sped faster and faster on our sledges till we reached the bottom, cold but exhilerated.

Today, it wasn’t snow that dominated the landscape, but blossom.

Escape to the Blossoms

Blossom Avenue

Sea of Blossoms

Pink Blossom Blue Sky

There was something quite magical about walking beneath those archways of blossoming branches. Really quite enchanting…

So how are you celebrating the weather in your corner of the world? Are you barbecuing in shorts and shades or are you snuggled up indoors with a steaming mug of hot chocolate? Are you jumping in the puddles or are you imagining shapes in the clouds above?

May 8, 2008. Environment, Inspiration, Photography.

11 Comments

  1. David replied:

    I took my girlfriend for a walk in the park, and we had ice-creams.

  2. Allison replied:

    These pictures are beautiful! They really do look straight out of a fairy tale!

  3. amypalko replied:

    Ice cream is very much the order of the day in the UK, isn’t it, David?

    Aw thank you, Allison. I must admit that I did feel at one point as though I had drifted into a fairy tale, but then that could have been because of the company I was keeping at the time!

  4. Wendi Kelly replied:

    Amy these are beautiful.
    It’s tulips for us right now. And just the beginning of green spreading out all over after the long haul of winter white. Your pictures are the promise of what is right around the corner here.
    Thanks!

  5. Sassy Mama Bear replied:

    well here in WI, we have hot cocoa one day and are grilling out in shorts the next…that is spring around here.
    I love the pictures so very beautiful.

  6. Sandie Law replied:

    These pictures are awe inspiring. Really. To find out that it’s Scotland to boot…I am delighted. It’s so lovely. I wish I was there!

  7. amypalko replied:

    I always find it a bit strange, Wendikelly, that we are so much further on in our seasons despite our latitude. I’m glad that I can give you a little glimpse into the future πŸ˜‰

    That’s very similar to Scotland, Sassy Mama Bear. Last week we were in anoraks and this week we’re basking in the sunshine. Who knows what the weather will be up to next week!

    Oh, thank you Sandie Law! What a beautiful compliment.

  8. Teacher Girl replied:

    Such lovely pink popcorn trees!

    In Barcelona, it’s been raining for two days which is not at all common. We are, believe it or not, having a perfectly nice warm-snuggly day inside… reading, blogging, discovering new music and lolling about in our pajamas. It’s an omelette with goat cheese kind of day.

    Thanks, Amy, for the brilliant photos and writing and for always responding to comments.

  9. paragraphcity replied:

    Lovely photos, and I’m reminded that I really want an omelette and goat cheese kind of day. I’m celebrating early May as I usually do, reading papers, many of them late, prepping for summer session, and salving the Distraction Genie with my favorite blogs.
    Dale

  10. amypalko replied:

    I’ve never been to Barcelona, Teacher Girl, but I’ve heard it’s beautiful. However, I don’t blame you for staying indoors to escape the rain πŸ™‚
    As for responding to comments, I think it’s only right that if my readers have taken the time out of their day to leave me their thoughts on my writing and/or photography, that I take the time to thank them. So, thank you, Teacher Girl, for commenting and for noticing!

    Oh, Paragraphcity, the Distraction Genie found you too? And I thought he just visited me πŸ˜‰

  11. Playing in the Blogosphere: beplayful.org replied:

    […] abounds with the joy and wonder of a person fully alive. One of Amy’s best recent posts has been Climactic Celebrations. Her new about page is also brilliant, offering sound advice on finding your creative self and […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

