Just When You Think You Know A Place…

…you discover something new.

I was born in Stirling and I live just outside the city now. I haven’t always lived here, but members of my family have lived in the area since long before I came into the world, so I like to think that I am very familiar with this town and its surroundings. Today, however, I was proved very, and most happily, wrong.

There’s a junction that we always turn right at, which takes us to the homes of both my aunt & uncle and my parents. Today we went left, and, oh my, it was beautiful! I took these shots from where we stopped for a picnic:

Perfect Picnic Spot

Wind Turbines

Bridge in Polmaise

Mother & Lamb

Sheep & Turbines

As you can see in some of the shots, we were quite close to the wind turbines, which I’ve only ever seen from a distance. Their movement is graceful and somewhat hypnotic. I know there are some that object to them on the basis that they spoil the countryside, but I think I rather like them…

When was the last time you turned left instead of right, and discovered wonder in the once familiar?

May 13, 2008. Environment, Photography.

13 Comments

  1. Dianne Murphy-Rodgers replied:

    Lovely pictures, Amy, thanks for sharing them! And the idea that taking a different road can lead to such unexpected treasures.

    I too like wind turbines. “Graceful and somewhat hypnotic” describes them perfectly!

    May you take many ‘wrong’ (or just new) turns in life and discover many wonderful new adventures!

    :o)

  2. Brett Legree replied:

    Amy,

    What a lovely set of photos! Very much reminds me of New Zealand, actually… hmm, maybe we can move to Scotland as an alternative 🙂

    Thanks very much for sharing today.

    -Brett

  3. Nicola replied:

    I love wind turbines! I think they enhance the landscape, and what better way to make power?! I get so fed up with nimby’s, they’re going to drive us all to nuclear energy, which would be great… if only they could figure out what to do with the waste! I love the first pic too, great angle on the little waterfall/creek 🙂

  4. amypalko replied:

    Thanks Dianne! What a beautiful blessing 🙂

    I’ve heard that New Zealand and Scotland have a lot in common,Brett, and I would dearly love to visit there one day.

    I was actually quite taken aback, Nicola, at just how excited I felt at being close to them. The road that we were on takes us a good bit closer, but I didn’t take any more pics. That’s one of the reasons why I want to go back!

  5. Sassy Mama Bear replied:

    I find the wind turbines a thing of grace, and something we must accept.
    We always take wrong turns on purpose to see where the road leads.

  6. wendikelly replied:

    It reminds me a lot of Ireland. I can’t wait to go back there. Maybe we will have to add Scotland to the list. It really is beautiful.

  7. kacey replied:

    I need to do that more. Turn left instead of right. Take time to poke around and explore. Lovely pictures!!

  8. neyellen replied:

    What a great find for you! I like these sheep. I can’t wait to get to Scotland someday, maybe in the next year or two. I have a friend in England that I vist. He lives in Bolton, Lancashire.

    I often go on journeys of discovery in the woods and that is the fun of it all. There is always something around the corner, and I never know what I will find.

  9. Karen Swim replied:

    Amy, this is beautiful and what a delightful treat! I get lost a lot being new here and all and I often discover many things that way. My favorite thing to do is run in unfamiliar places, or even my own neighborhood. You discover so much more on foot than driving. These photos are gorgeous! If a New Zealand trip is planned, put me on the list too! It’s on my Top 10 list of places to visit.

    Karen
    xx

  10. Damien replied:

    Beautiful. We have a lot of those windmills near us at a place called Palm Springs.

  11. amypalko replied:

    They really are quite graceful, aren’t they, Sassy Mamma Bear?

    Oh yes, WendiKelly, please do add Scotland to your list. Ireland and Scotland do have many similarities but they both have very strong identities.

    It is worth taking the time for, Kacey. Happy exploring!

    That’s the fun of it, isn’t it, Neyellen? Never knowing what you’ll discover hidden around the next turn in the path…

    You do see a lot more when walking than driving, don’t you, Karen? It is well worth leaving the car behind and setting off on foot, I think 🙂

    Scotland has been getting more and more of these turbines, Damien, and they’ve been proving quite controversial. I’d still rather live next to one of them than a nuclear power plant tho!

  12. Allan Ogg replied:

    A very nice set of pictures Amy. Glasgow is surrounded by wee gems like this if you know where to look as well

  13. toni replied:

    You’re so blessed to be near such beauty!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

