Flowers Up Close

I was reading a great post over at Heroes Not Zombies the other day there about texture, at the end of which Bob asks “What catches your attention on an everyday basis?” For me the answer is colour; I love just love bright colours, especially when I find them in nature. Yesterday, I was around at my grandparents’ house, and spent a lovely afternoon taking photographs of some of the spectacular jewel-coloured flowers. In Grandad’s garden the begonias are really quite spectacular, the chrysanthemums are just beginning to unfurl their peachy petals and the gazanias’ amber and saffron petals are reflecting back the sun’s rays . Here’s a collection of some of the photos I took:

Orange Begonia 2

Pink Begonia 2

Yellow Begonia

White Begonia

Pale Orange Chrysanthemum

Gazania 3

I have a few more up on my flickr site if you want to check them out!

August 29, 2007. Environment, Photography.

3 Comments

  1. New Look Blog « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] a customisable (is that even a word?) header, and I’ve uploaded one of the photos I took in Grandad’s garden. I’m really happy with […]

  2. bobleckridge replied:

    I see you got the macro function working now!

  3. amypalko replied:

    Yep! I can’t believe I had that camera for so long and have only just discovered it. Oh well, better late than never, I suppose.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI