Time Capsule: Flickr Group Project

Blushing Bride

It has been one whole week now since I launched the Flickr group, Photography Less Ordinary, and I have been blown away by just how many of you have embraced the project, and have been willing to get involved. In Monday’s post, I mentioned the possibility of some group projects, themes, treasure hunts etc. Well, I have decided to launch the first of those today. With 71 members currently, I’m hoping to get a pretty good turn out!

Ok, the details of the project are as follows: your mission, should you choose to accept it, (and I sincerely hope you will!) is to take a time-specific photograph and contribute it to the group by midnight (your time) next Wednesday (4th June).

Your photograph could relate to a specific season or you may choose to photograph an actual timepiece. You could contribute a photograph that includes the date in some innovative way, or you may decide to take a photo of a time-specific event. Or you could even capture and share a personal milestone, although perhaps not a milestone as major as the photographed one I’ve included in this post, which is me on my wedding day nearly 11 years ago. However, I would prefer that the photo you contribute is one taken during the course of the week, as it will form a part of a Photography Less Ordinary time capsule celebrating the group’s launch and all its fabulous members’ efforts to date!

A few technicalities:

  1. If you are not a member of the Flickr group, but you would like to be, add me as a contact, and you will be sent an invite.
  2. Your photograph should be time-specific in some way.
  3. Preferably, your photograph will have been taken between the 30th May and the 4th June.
  4. When contributing a photograph to this project, please include timecapsule as a Flickr tag, to make it easy for all contributions to be collated. Please ensure that you enter the tag exactly as I have here, all one word, otherwise your entry may get lost!
  5. Add a description giving details of your photograph including the date it was taken and why you have chosen to submit it to the time capsule.
  6. Submit your photo to the group by midnight (your time) on Wednesday (4th June) to ensure your photo’s inclusion in the round-up post.
  7. Have fun!

I plan to write the round-up post, the format of which will be dependent upon how many entries the group receives, by next Friday (6th June).

Please do give it a go! In particular, if you are one of the members who has yet to contribute a photograph to the group’s pool, why not use this as a good excuse to give it a go. If you are unsure about any of the technicalities of contributing a photo, send me a Flickr Mail, and I’ll talk you through it. Some of our less confident members have already plucked up the courage to share a photo with the group, and have been greatly encouraged by the supportive feedback received.

Your photo does not have to be perfect – it just has to be yours!

How are you enjoying Photography Less Ordinary so far? Do you have any suggestions for future projects? Do you have any suggestions for the group overall? All feedback will be greatly appreciated!

May 30, 2008. Creativity, Photography.

11 Comments

  1. Exploring Creativity « wonderwebby replied:

    […] work. It doesn’t just help me improve my photography and creative eye; it helps me to observe moments in time, the seasons, the environment and the world around me – almost waiting to be noticed and […]

  2. Joanna Young replied:

    Amy, I’m really looking forward to the results of this challenge. The camera will be with me wherever I go!

    I just wanted to say thanks to you and everyone on the group for your support and encouragement. The feedback on photos I’ve posted to the pool has been very helpful. Although I was nervous the first time I did it (how do I choose what’s ‘good’??) once I’d done it I felt good, and have enjoyed looking at and sharing other people’s.

    I’d really encourage anyone who’s not sure about it to give it a go.

    I’ve also been overwhelmed with comments on other photos in my stream from members of your group – sometimes when I’m still finishing off the uploading process! I’ve learned so much from the feedback & what resonates with people, and their comments and reactions. But mainly I’d say I’ve found it v. motivating.

    Last but not least – sorry for epic comment! – I experimented with some deliberate creativity this week. I went out on a very grey miserable (dreich) day looking for colour – camera in hand. I was delighted with what I found, and how much more positive I felt for the rest of that day (and beyond).

    Hope you don’t mind if I share the link to the set of 10 photos I took:Colours of a grey day

    Thanks for being such an inspiration Amy

    Joanna

  3. rlovison replied:

    Joanna,

    Don’t be fooled by what your eyes tell you. There was more color to photograph on that gray miserable day than you were aware of. Actually, the colors of foliage and flowers will be more saturated in a digital or film image when wet as your photos indicate.

    Having your in-camera white balance (WB) set to cloudy (cloud symbol) instead of auto will help in these conditions by bringing a bit more “warmth” (reds and yellows) to the image.

    The even lighting provided by an overcast day can be a blessing as well since it can eliminate the extreme contrast caused by bright, sunny, cloudless days (though you will need to turn the flash off). Even though flowers might look better to your eye in bright, sunny lighting conditions, digital capture or color film will not be able to handle the extreme range of light… highlights will be overexposed or shadows underexposed.

    I’m afraid this post is going on forever.:) Anyhow, I applaud you for experimenting in those dismal conditions. Keep experimenting. šŸ™‚

    Richard

  4. Graham replied:

    Wow, what a project! I am certainly up for this one!!! it sounds so inviting and most thought provoking too!

    I wish everybody a happy flickr-full weekend šŸ™‚

  5. Joanna Young replied:

    Richard, thanks very much for the tips and encouragement. I’m having fun experimenting for sure šŸ™‚

    Joanna

  6. amypalko replied:

    Watching the results from your inspiration, Joanna, has been such a joy to me. Keep up the good work!

    Thank you so much for your explanation, Richard! I knew that often colour looks better on a grey day, but I had no idea why. Also, thank you so much for your encouraging words to Joanna šŸ™‚

    I look forward to seeing what you come up with, Graham!

  7. Dianne Murphy-Rodgers replied:

    What a lovely picture of a wonderful memory, Amy!

    I love this idea, really thought-provoking as Graham says … and I’m excited by the challenge.

    @Joanna, I’m so glad you shared your colours on a grey day here, I think they’re a lovely, inspiring collection!

    @Richard, that’s very interesting and helpful advice, thank you!

    I really appreciate the warmth and generosity of members of this truly inpsirational group, Amy … thank you for starting Photography Less Ordinary, you’re a star!

    I’m so glad it has been such a success, I am so looking forward to seeing what happens next!

    :o)

  8. Some Less Ordinary News « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] an invite.Ā  Oh, and you only have till midnight (your time) tomorrow to submit your photo to the time capsule challenge.Ā  We already have some beautiful entries, so why don’t you give it a […]

  9. amypalko replied:

    Thank you so much for all your lovely words, Dianne. You are such a valued member of the group šŸ™‚

  10. Photography Less Ordinary Time Capsule Result « Lives Less Ordinary replied:

    […] Less Ordinary Time Capsule Result Posted by amypalko under Photography   Last Friday, I set a challenge: take a time-specific photograph and contribute it to the new Photography Less Ordinary Flickr […]

  11. Less Ordinary » Photography Less Ordinary Time Capsule Result replied:

    […] Friday, I set a challenge: take a time-specific photograph and contribute it to the new Photography Less Ordinary Flickr […]

Leave a comment

Trackback URI